Prompt for March 22, 2015

Complete the short story / flash fiction, that has the following first paragraph:

Is it a prison if it is of your making?  If you choose not to leave are you truly trapped?  I ask myself those questions every day and the answer is the same: yes. Some say that I am immortal while others say that I do not exist while others say I am naught but a story to frighten those of weak conviction.  Let me tell you now that I do exist and that I am indeed in a prison, a prison of my own making.  When I was created the gods gave me great power, but told me that if I ever used it I would doom the world and plunge it into a darkness from which nothing would escape.  I have lived for thousands of years and have had the power to prevent the most heinous crimes imaginable, but in so doing I would condemn the world to an eternity of darkness.  I choose to stay in my prison, trapped by my own hands.  I am Pandora.

Post a link to the story in the comments.

Leave a Reply

