Prompt for October 23, 2015

Complete the short story/flash fiction, that has the following first paragraph:

The rescue ship had picked him up floating between two stars near the Lesser Magellanic Cloud. At first his rescuers were unsure of the proper environment in which to place his battered body but eventually they discovered the correct combination of gases, light and gravity. Which was too bad, Thamus Garrison thought sadly, as he contemplated a life alone. As the last surviving member of the human race, he thought that he would be allowed to choose the time and place of his own death.

Post a link to the story in the comments.

2 thoughts on “Prompt for October 23, 2015

  1. I’m really enjoying reading your prompts; as I’ve mentioned before, on their own they are beautiful little pieces. Unfortunately, I haven’t been taking the challenges because I find it too uncomfortable to work with an entire first bit written in someone else’s voice. But I love reading them so I do hope you’ll keep posting! 🙂

    Like

  2. Donald

    Thank you once again for your comments. Have no fear, my original objective was to do one every day for a year. Now I’m thinking that I will do this again next year. It’s fun, and nerve-wracking, to try to come up with something that feels different every day of the year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

