Prompt for January 12, 2016

Complete the short story/flash fiction, that has the following opening:

Six days.When people are told that they have an incurable disease or cancer or some other medical catastrophe they’re normally told that they have a few weeks, months or years left. So imagine being told that you have six days.

When people are told that they have an incurable disease or cancer or some other medical catastrophe they’re normally told that they have a few weeks, months or years left. So imagine being told that you have six days.

Now, let’s up the ante. It’s not just six days, I’ve been told the precise date and time: Friday at 3:45 PM. And it’s not just my death, it’s the death of everyone in a six block radius. Confused? I was too until they told me that the bomb they were talking about was wired into my body using it as the casing.  I am the bomb.

One final set of twists. There is a both a GPS and an altimeter inside my body. If I leave Manhatten the bomb goes off. If I go more than twenty meters underground the bomb goes off. If I go more than three hundred meters above ground the bomb goes off. If they discover that I’ve told the authorities the bomb goes off. If I die before Friday the bomb goes off. I’m going to die and I’m taking a significant chunk of Manhatten with me.

Six days and I have no clue as to who is doing this to me or why.  It’s going to be a busy six days.

Post a link to the story in the comments.

Leave a Reply

