Prompt for January 29, 2016

Complete the short story/flash fiction, that has the following opening:

“You made me what I am, you bastard, you left me to die, you left me to die on that island while you found a way off. You never told anyone that I was there. You never told anyone that I was still alive. You let them all think that I was dead. Dead and buried. Now I’m going to do the same thing to you.”

Kevin’s face was inches from that of his best friend, no, his former best friends face and as he spoke spittle rained upon the glasses that his friend wore. The glasses, sitting askew on Darren’s face, were cracked and one arm was almost completely ripped off but they were still in much better shape than the face that they sat on. Darren’s face, bloodied and mangled by repeatedly being punched, was almost unrecognizable.

“Kevin, stop,” said a voice from the door. He looked up to see Diane, his widow, standing in the doorway with a gun pointed at him. “It wasn’t Darren’s idea, I told him to lie. The world can’t see you like this, Kevin, it’s not ready.”

Post a link to the story in the comments.

Leave a Reply

