Prompt for February 9, 2016

Complete the short story/flash fiction, that has the following opening:

I was lying on the grass, feeling the warm rays of the sun heating up my skin and the cooling breeze from the ocean whipping the heat away. Sunburn weather, but i was too busy enjoying the day to worry about it?

“Dad?”

“Yeah, Beka?” I replied.

“Have you ever wondered about how many lives the sun has affected?”

“What do you mean?”

“Well, every day the sun goes across the sky there are millions of people who look to it for help, either in growing their crops or even something as simple as giving light when there is darkness. It’s a source of hope for some, but a source of pain for others for a strong sun means that drought is more likely to occur. And in winter? A clear sunny day in winter is normally a colder day? But not always. There are so many people whose lives are affected on a daily basis.”

I chuckled. “You constantly amaze me, little one, but I think it’s time for a nap.”

“OK, Dad, I’ll see you later.”

I rolled over and turned off the holo-simulater and the image of my fourteen-year old daughter disappeared. She had died almost ten years ago but I replayed her last conversation with me over and over again. It gets lonely in deep space when you’re the only one awake on an ark that carries the remnants of mankind. And sometimes, not always, but sometimes I don’t think that I’m alone.

Post a link to the story in the comments.

Leave a Reply

