Prompt for February 10, 2016

Complete the short story/flash fiction, that has the following opening:

Extract from the closed door prosecution of Ludorik Khovaric, First Baron of Dharowir, on charges of treason to the Empire.

“Listen to me, Madam Prosecutor, you have no idea what you are talking about. While you and your compratiots talked about the war and how it was impacting your lives, almost two weeks ride from the front line, the enemy was on my doorstep, literally, on my doorstep waiting for me to capitulate. The Emporer didn’t care. The Senate didn’t care. And you sure as hell didn’t care.

“So what am I supposed to do when the enemy is at the gate and they are not asking for my surrender terms, they are simply telling me that I have to surrender or be obliterated? What am I supposed to do?

“I’ll tell you what I did, I invoked the ancient magicks that kept my people in check. I called upon the Gods themselves to break the bonds that prevented us from defending ourselves to the best of our abilities. I promised the Gods whatever they wanted, as long as the invading force was defeated. And we defeated them. We ripped through their lines and tore them apart. We eviscerated each and every one of them and when we got to their ships? We boarded them, killed everyone on board, whether they be man, woman or child, and then stacked the corpses in the ship and let the wind carry it where it may.

“We tore them apart so that you, Madam Prosecutor, you and the other pretty people in the court could continue to have your tea and pretend that the world was a ‘nice’ place. Do I think that what I did was justified? Damn right I do or you wouldn’t be here criticizing me about it.”

Post a link to the story in the comments.

Leave a Reply

