Prompt for February 23, 2016

Complete the short story/flash fiction, that has the following opening:

She looked very peaceful lying in the hospital bed. If not for the bandages around her wrists and the intravenous in her arm I would have thought that she had been sleeping in her own bed at our house. But she wasn’t. This was the Granville Hospital Emergency ward and my daughter, my sweet seventeen-year-old daughter, had been rushed to the hospital after trying to take her life.

My wife Jackie and I were supposed to have had an evening out – dinner and a movie – to celebrate our nineteenth anniversary, but the restaurant had been flooded due to some faulty sprinklers so we thought we’d go home to grab something before going to the movie. When we got home the house was mysteriously quiet and we found Lara in the main bathroom with the water already red, much too red. Jackie’s training as a registered nurse kicked in while I was too stunned to really appreciate what was happening. I noticed the note on the counter, but only grabbed it and stuffed it in my pockets. I picked Lara up, Jackie wrapped her in a robe, and her mother and I took her to the hospital.

I felt a hand grab mine and I looked down to see the top of Jackies head as she rested it on my shoulder.  Her eyes were red and puffy.  The crying had started after we had gotten to the hospital and left her with the doctors and nurses.

“She’s going to be all right Sean. The doctors said that we found her in time and that there should be no permanent physical damage. But,” she looked up at me, “why?”

“Maybe this will explain it,” I said as I extracted the crumpled note from my pocket. I opened up the note, held it so that Jackie could read it as well and started at the top.  Jackie gasped when she read the note while the only thing that came out of my mouth was “I’ll kill that bastard.”

Post a link to the story in the comments.

Leave a Reply

