Prompt for February 25, 2016

Complete the short story/flash fiction, that has the following opening:

I never realized until today how fragile and how small a person’s life was in the grand scheme of things. Here I was, sitting in the Funeral Director’s office, filling out forms and realizing that my dad’s life was being summed up by twenty pages of legalese.

Is that all we are, just a collection of legal documents to show that we lived, that we mattered? The pain in my heart, the hole that exists where previously it was filled with a laughing, loving father, is that all that remains when we die? I finished with the forms, the funeral director oblivious to my inner turmoil.

Mom and Dad finalized their divorce just a couple of years ago and she ran away with one of Dad’s business partners to live in England. Their marriage was over before that, however, and even though I had always felt closer to Dad, Mom leaving him brought us even closer. We were more than father and son, we were friends. And now he was gone.

As I flipped the last page I realized that my brain had filled in the forms for me as I got lost in my memories and my feelings. The funeral director picked up the forms, smiled sadly at me, and told me to take as much time as I needed. The time I needed, though, was time with my Dad and that time was now gone. I stood up, shook his hand and left his office. Mom’s plane was landing in just over an hour and I needed a drink.

Post a link to the story in the comments.

Leave a Reply

