Prompt for March 12, 2016

Complete the short story/flash fiction, that has the following opening:

“You have got to be kidding?” The voice was loud in the silence and we all looked at Vince standing at the edge of the building looking down at the street below. Silence was our best weapon and Vince wasn’t helping us any.

“Will you get down?” Sylvan angrily whispered to him. Our normally demure nerdy friend had turned into one of our best shooters. I guess playing video games really does help during a zombie apocalypse. Vince, however, just looked down at her and sneered.

“Oh, yeah, princess. What are they going to do? Climb the building? All I have to do is outrun you and I have no qualms about tripping you to keep me alive.” He laughed, his voice achingly loud in the silence of the dead town, and something in me told me that we didn’t need or want Vince along for the ride.

“Actually, Vince,” I whispered as I stood up, “there is one thing you need to do.” I moved closer until I could whisper in his ear. “Go fuck yourself.”

And I pushed him off the building. Within ten seconds he was as quiet as we needed him to be.

Post a link to the story in the comments.

Leave a Reply

