Prompt for March 16, 2016

Complete the short story/flash fiction, that has the following opening:

“Say again, Cyclops Command, say again.”

The voice that responded was cold, dispassionate, and yet full of sorrow. “I repeat, Cyclops One, you are disavowed. There will be radio silence after this. Good luck.” A distinct click, followed by static confirmed that protocol was being followed.

“What’d they say, Sarge?”

“When are they coming?”

“What next?”

The voices, barely out of puberty, all talked at once. I held up my hand and they all became quiet. Yes, they were green, damn green, but they were well trained. I dropped the radio phone and turned around in my crouched position, continuing to stay hidden amongst the debris that littered the once splendid estate house. The mission had gone smoothly, so smoothly, that we forgot the one thing that we had been told was mandatory for the mission: invisibility. As soon as we were made Command made the decision to disavow any knowledge of us and, with that came the inevitable removal of the chopper for our escape.

“Boys,” I said, my voice firming up as I looked at each of the six men and women with me. Five soldiers and a civilian. “It looks like Daddy’s not coming to pick us up. We’ll need to hitch our own ride home.”

Post a link to the story in the comments.

Leave a Reply

