Prompt for April 7, 2016

Complete the short story/flash fiction, that has the following opening:

“Go ahead, look me in the eye and say it.”

Jesse glowered at him, but straightened up, brushed a loose strand of hari away from her eye and looked him straight in the eyes. “I will not go out with you, just leave me alone.”

Stephen looked back at Jesse, her deep blue eyes looking at him with an intensity that he hadn’t seen before. If he could just keep looking into her eyes for the rest of his life he could die a happy man. “You have fabulous eyes,” he said.

He saw the blush start in her neck and rise up through her face. Just before it reached her eyes she blinked and looked down at the table top in the restaurant they were at. “Damn it, Stephen, you’re supposed to be helping me with what I need to say to Devon. I need to shut him down and he needs to stop calling me. Instead, you’re just sitting there making fun of me.”

A flash of pain crossed Stephen’s eyes before he backed off and leaned back against the wall of the restaurant. “Sorry Jesse, I understand. I’ll behave.”

Jesse knew there was more than what Stephen was saying, but that would have to wait. Her stalker came first and then … and then she and Stephen could chat. A nice, long, chat.

Post a link to the story in the comments.

Leave a Reply

