Prompt for April 19, 2016

Complete the short story/flash fiction, that has the following opening:

The cemetery was quiet and deserted. It was close to sunset and everyone who wanted to visit had come and gone leaving Nicholas by himself. He was used to that, having been alone now for almost three years.

He had arrived at the cemetery almost three hours ago and, as per his usual routine he put a fresh bouquet of roses in the flower holder and sat down beside the headstone. Over the course of the past three hours, he had told Emily everything that had happened to him this week, the highs, the lows, and the inconsequentials. The lows almost always outnumbered the highs and this week was no exception. Today was different, however. Today he didn’t talk about the future, he didn’t talk about what was coming up.

“Emily, I’m not sure that I can do it anymore. I’ve tried, God knows I’ve tried, but I don’t think I can do it anymore. I miss you. I miss your smile, the way you always knew exactly what to say to bring up my spirits, even how you always licked the peanut butter off the knife and then gave me the knife to use.” He smiled at that memory, a brief, haunting smile that didn’t last long against the unending torrent of grief. He started to cry, the tears dripping from his face.

“I’m starting to forget things about you Emily, I can’t remember things and it scares me. I lost you three years ago and I’m slowly losing you all over again. I can’t take it anymore, I just can’t. I’ve been so lonely these past few years and the only thing that kept me sane was the fact that by keeping you alive in my memory I could still be with you. But I’m failing. I’m failing, my love and I can’t bear to have you leave me again.” He collapsed onto the headstone, his grief leaving him too weak to sit up.

“Excuse me sir, but are you alright?” For a moment he thought it was Emily as the voice was the same warm contralto sound he was used to, but he knew that it wasn’t her. He straightened up, wiped the tears from his face with the back of his hands and turned around to look at the person behind him.

Post a link to the story in the comments.

2 thoughts on “Prompt for April 19, 2016

Leave a Reply

