Prompt for April 22, 2016

Complete the short story/flash fiction, that has the following opening:

I’ve always been a patient methodical person. When I was younger and opened up a bag of M&M’s I would sort them by colour and start eating the colour that had the most. When there were two clours the same I would alternate. I would keep doing this until the final set of M&M’s. Those I would eat all at once.

Oreo cookies? I would open up the Oreo, take out the icing and pile it on the icing from other cookies. I would then take two cookies left over and eat them. Once I had done this five or six times I would take the icing, roll it up into a ball and stuff the icing in my mouth. The sugar rush was awesome, but the subsequent crash would hurt. Didn’t matter though, because I would do it again and again.

As I got older I would ensure that the food on my plate never overlapped other food and I would eat one type of food first, eating all of it, before starting on the next. I would also start with the food that I liked the least, saving my favourites for last.

I considered myself patient and methodical. Others called my obsessive and compulsive. Other said that I was nuts.

So, when I got out of line at Starbucks, just two people away from the front, to follow a girl that I had only seen for about five seconds, I knew something was up. I knew that this was going to be a change. I just didn’t realize how big a change until it was too late to go back.

Post a link to the story in the comments.

Leave a Reply

