Prompt for April 24, 2016

Complete the short story/flash fiction, that has the following opening:

“I think I am going to Hell,” I said as I stuck the tortilla chip in a bowl of chili con queso, scooped out a good portion and stuck the chip in my mouth. It was good, really good, with just the right amount of heat.

“And why would that be?” My sister, not wanting to miss out on her share of queso, took an equally large scoop with her chip. She looked at me with her deep blue eyes, waiting for an answer. I wasn’t sure that I wanted to tell her, but then again my mouth started the conversation first so I figured that I would need to give her the details.

“Well, Stephen came by for a visit last night,” Stephen was a co-worker at the bookstore I worked at. We became friends within days of meeting each other and have been pretty close for the past two years. “When he dropped in he brought his latest girlfriend.”

I became really nervous at this point and grabbed another chip with some more queso to give me a moment to think about how to say this. Sylvia and I shared everything. We told each other when we got our first periods, when we lost our virginity, who was good in bed and who wasn’t. But this … this was something I hadn’t shared with her before. Something that she didn’t know about me even though we talked almost every day for the past twenty-five years.

“So? You didn’t like his new girlfriend?”

I rushed through the explanation before I could stop myself. “No, it’s not that, I like her. I like her too much. I’d like to get to know her better without Stephen being in the way. I wanted to kiss those lips and nibble at her neck. I wanted to bite her ear lobe and see if she …” I stopped.

The chip that Sylvia had just scooped up the queso with paused on its trip to her mouth, the queso so thick that it didn’t drip off the chip, but hung on the edge much like I envisioned I was hanging on to my sanity.

Post a link to the story in the comments.

Leave a Reply

