Prompt for April 30, 2016

Complete the short story/flash fiction, that has the following opening:

He reached for her hand, but she sat back in the restaurant booth and pulled her hand into her lap. She had asked him to meet there, his favourite spot, for dinner, saying she had news for him. She didn’t want to do this, but she had to. He deserved to know. She needed to tell him.

“I went to the doctor today.” She paused, her nervousness causing her stomach to flutter. Or was that …?

“I know,” he said, “they called last night to confirm the appointment. Is everything all right? Is there a problem? I’ll be there for you Sandy, you know I will.”
She knew it, he would be there for him, regardless of what happened. He was the rock and she was the ship smashing itself to pieces while the rock just sat there. The tears threatened to fall, her eyes brimming with moisture that begged to be free.

“I’m pregnant,” she blurted out.

He sat there, stunned at the news, and then a smile broke out on his face and the sun seemed to shine through eyes as he positively glowed at the news.
“That is fantastic. Absolutely fantastic. Oh my God, you know what this means, right? We need to get married. Your parents would want us to, but more importantly, I want to. I now you thought we should wait, but I can’t wait anymore, Sandy, I love you. I’ve always loved you and I want to make this baby of ours has a decent life, a decent future. I want …”

“Adam,” she said, “I’m pregnant, but the baby isn’t yours.”

Post a link to the story in the comments.

Leave a Reply

