Prompt for May 2, 2016

Complete the short story/flash fiction, that has the following opening:

I twisted the wedding band on my ring finger wondering when it had happened. The gold band was glittering in the reflected light of the setting sun, but it wasn’t a warm light, it was cold. Like my heart. I glanced over at the next picnic table and looked at my husband of nine years and felt … nothing. No surge of heat, no desire, no fondness, not even curiosity as to how he was doing. Nothing.

When did I become so unfeeling? Was it after our first child or our second? What happened to our lives so that our marriage went from something that was thriving to something that was sterile? I looked at him closely: a few inches taller than me, still firm and tight from his time in the gym, his shoulder length hair still full and thick and his eyes, those steel blue eyes, still lively. But it didn’t excite me, it didn’t make me want to stand up, go over to him and kiss him all over. I felt lonely. In the midst of our families, I felt so alone.

My sister must have felt something, must have seen something in my eye, or maybe the lack of something and she came over to sit beside me. She nudged me with her shoulder and I turned to look at her. The lack of any light in my face must have alarmed her as she immediately grasped my hand and asked me if I was alright. What could I say to her? That I was fine, just in a loveless marriage and wondering what I could do to escape? Or perhaps tell her that any excitement in my marriage came looking at YouTube videos of people making fools of themselves.

Instead, I smiled at her, told her I was going to go for a short walk and left before anyone could stop me. I didn’t look back, I didn’t want to see if someone was looking or if they were following. I just left.

And I haven’t seen any of them since

Post a link to the story in the comments.

Leave a Reply

