Prompt for May 13, 2016

Complete the short story/flash fiction, that has the following opening:

The wind was loud, very loud. I guess I should have expected that. I mean, what else do you expect when you open the door of an air plan at seven thousand feet? Silence?

The sky outside the door was a brilliant blue, clear, warm, inviting. But inviting enough for me to jump out of an airplane. Hell, no. Only I don’t really have a choice as the pilot already decided that he was going to go sky swimming and I have no idea how to fly a plane. I know how to fall, so I figured that was a plus in the “jump out of a plane” column. I think I know which cord is the rip cord, but it’s a little difficult to test while I’m still in the plane.

I must say that this is not what I was expecting while I was on my honeymoon. In my mind I was thinking of drinks on the beach with Mackenzie, drinks on a boat with Mackenzie, drinks at a secluded little restaurant with Mackenzie, drinks in the hotel room with Mackenzie and so on. Having my wife kidnapped when I was too drunk to think was not in my plans. Neither was jumping out of a plane that still had fuel in its tanks.

Why did the engine quit? Damn, remember that fuel in the tanks? Apparently there is none anymore. I guess it’s time to leave.

Post a link to the story in the comments.

Leave a Reply

