Prompt for May 26, 2016

Complete the short story/flash fiction, that has the following opening:

The wedding car decked out in streamers, big bows and a tail of tin cans, left the church parking lot amid a cacophony of horn-honking and cheering. The wedding had gone off without a hitch. The ceremony was perfect, as was the singing by the groom’s sister and the speech by the minister. Maybe it was just me, but it was so heartbreaking and tender that my eyes started to well up with tears. A quick wipe with a kleenex and no one was the wiser. As part of the wedding party, I had a front row seat to their happiness.

And it tore me apart.

It should have been me up there. I should have proposed. I should have stood up and told her how I felt and how we could have a wonderful life together. I should have been willing to take a risk, to have faith.

But I didn’t. So now my best friend Alex is married to the girl of my dreams, Lizzie. I thought I saw a flicker of something in her eyes when she looked at me – sadness? regret? – but maybe that was just me fantasizing about a future I would never have.

I stared down the street until the car was no longer visible and the rest of the wedding guests started to leave. That should have been me. My eyes started to mist up when someone grabbed me by the elbow.

“Come on, Annie, let’s get to the reception hall and make sure everything is set up for them. They’re just visiting Lizzie’s mother in the hospital and then they’ll head over to the hall.” I nodded, accepting my part as the maid of honor, and took one last look down the street before walking towards the waiting car.

Post a link to the story in the comments.

Leave a Reply

