Prompt for June 15, 2016

Complete the short story/flash fiction, that has the following opening:

“I’m so sorry, you’ll have to excuse my clumsiness,” said the voice attached to the man that bumped into me. He was tall, kind of on the slim side, like a runner, and had longish light brown hair swept back from his square-jawed face. Nice. But I wasn’t here for nice, I was here to relax.

“Quite all right,” I said, picking up the bag I had dropped, “no harm, no foul.” He chuckled. It was nice chuckle. No, no, I wasn’t here for finding somebody, I was looking for a birthday present. I picked up the bag, expecting him to be gone, but he was standing there, his hand on his chin, looking at me. Not just looking at me, I mean, I’ve seen that look thousands of times before, but he was actually looking at me as if he was trying to see inside me. Almost gave me goosebumps. Unlike most people his look wasn’t predatory, it felt … warmer?

“Have I … Do I know you from somewhere?” Oh, shit, this again. Damn. So much for warmth, just another “fan”. I straightened up and selected the response that I gave when I was pissed off. I mean, if I hadn’t held on to higher expectations as to what he was doing I would have given him the softer response, but damn it, why did he have to be like everyone else?

“Yes, you may have. Angel Wings, adult film star. Perhaps you’ve seen me while jerking off to one of my films?” I expected him to flinch or leer or be shocked by my admission, but he kept staring at me.

“No, I don’t think so, although I do see the temptation.” He grinned and gave me a wink. A wink? What the hell? “No, I’ve seen you before, from a long time before, maybe …” He trailed off as he got this distant look in his eyes. I took one step back and glanced around, making sure that there were people close by. I’ve had my share of stalkers and they’re not fun, scary in fact. I needed to make sure that someone was close by and could help me out if things went bad and with this guy? Who knew? I took another step back when he snapped his fingers and his eyes re-focused.

“Got it. Now I know where I’ve seen you before. You’re Angela Warren and you went to Stoney Brook Elementary but left just a months prior to graduating. I never did know where you went.”

I just stared at him. No one knew that. No one. When I Thompsonville my name was changed. When I entered the adult film industry I scoured the Internet to see if someone could trace Angel Wings back to who I was when I was happier and I couldn’t do it. I figured that my past was safe, but this guy, this guy saw through that.

“How do you know that?” I whispered. He looked at me, his goofy-ass smile getting bigger by the second.

“It’s me, Jackson Philpot, I proposed to you back in grade seven and you accepted.” I looked at him and tried to imagine the slightly chubby Jackson grown up into this man in front of me. I couldn’t really see it until I looked deep into those twinkling eyes, the eyes of a natural born comedian. Could it be? My heart gave a little jump when the realization hit. I had loved Jackson as much as any thirteen-year-old could love anyone.

“Jackson?” I said, my voice trembling. I held out my hand, but he took it, got down on one knee and kissed the back of my hand like he used to ten years ago. My knees almost buckled and my eyes, my traitorous eyes, started leaking.

“Jackson,” I said, a little more convincingly, “we need to talk.”

Post a link to the story in the comments.

Leave a Reply

