Prompt for June 19, 2016

Complete the short story/flash fiction, that has the following opening:

The music played in the background, another “Epic Music” playlist from YouTube, but he wasn’t paying attention to the orchestral swells and valleys. His mind was elsewhere. His heart was elsewhere.

Maria, his partner, the love of his life, the centre of his existence for the past fifteen years, had just admitted that she was seeing someone else. Someone who could give her more. Someone who could commit to a relationship. Someone who wasn’t just there, but who has an integral part of her life.

He stared at the background on his computer screen, a picture of them at St. Thomas last year. He had taken a weeks vacation and had flown the two of them there as a last minute surprise. She had seemed to enjoy it at the time, but when they had to fly back she seemed withdrawn. Reluctant to discuss things and as the plane took off she looked back at the island with a longing that he had not seen in years.

And tonight, when he needed her to accompany him to a charity event, she had said “no”. That started the fight where she announced that she was leaving.

“I can’t take it anymore, William, I can’t take being second fiddle, the person that fills your dance card only when you need someone. I need to be the person that you turn to all the time, not just some of the time. I need to feel loved more for who I am and what I have accomplished than for just being an easy date.” She paused and took a deep breath.

“I’ve met someone, someone who loves me for who I am. I’m leaving you, William. I’ll have my sister pick up my things tomorrow. I’m sorry, but this is what’s best for me and, for once, I need to do something for me, not you.”

She stood up and left the room, the house before he could really understand what was happening. And when he did, all that he could do was collapse into the leather chair at his desk that he had been standing in front of for the past ten minutes.
As the music swelled it seemed to fill the air, making him breathe in the drums and soaring string instruments that gave the music it’s “epicness”. The more he breathed the more he understood. This was the turning point for him and he needed to figure out what he wanted more out of life: a successful career or Maria.

He looked at the picture once more and knew that without Maria he was nothing. He had to get her back.

Post a link to the story in the comments.

Leave a Reply

