Prompt for June 26, 2016

Complete the short story/flash fiction, that has the following opening:

It was supposed to be an innocent con, although a profitable one. Jathon would walk through the crowd in front of me and pick my target, telling me what I needed to acquire. I would then “bump” into the target, liberating their coin purse or whatever it is that I was supposed to do and then go on to the next target.

The day started off good. Jathon and I lifted four coin purses and a really nice gold bracelet before we even got to Jaffries for lunch. The market was busy, the marks were oblivious and everyone was having a good time. Oh, there would be a few complaints to the King’s Sentinels about cutpurses in the market but there would be no leads for them to follow up on. We had just finished lunch and had started back to rooms in the flophouse when a large crowd of nobles entered the market. Well, they may not have been nobles, but thet were sure dressed like they were. The finest silks, the most colourful robes and dresses and, most of all, the gaudiest gold jewelry that I had ever seen. Jathon didn’t need to point out the marks, they were all targets.

I moved through the crowd quickly, taking a bracelet, a ring, a purse, a broach, even jewel-encrusted hairpins were options. The last of the group was walking in front of me, the robe covering everything except for her hand the most beautiful bracelet I had ever seen. The delicate gold work and the encrusted jewels made it sparkle in the afternoon sun. With my eye on the prize, I bumped into her and as I was reached for the bracelet her hand grabbed my wrist. I pulled. I pulled hard, but her grip didn’t waver.

“Sorry,” I said, still acting the part of a clumsy customer. She reached up with her other hand swept her hood back from her face. It was at that point that I realized that I was screwed. Royally screwed to boot. The flickering gold eyes and the flaming red hair indicated only one thing: Royal Family. Considering that they were still ruling the country after five hundred years even after multiple assassination attempts meant that their powers hadn’t waned. As I finally focused on the face I realized that I had just attempted to steal from Princess Catrine, who had single handedly won the last war with the Merigans. Next to the King, the most powerful person in the kingdom. Hell, for as much as I knew she was more powerful than the king. She smirked at me and I just barely kept control of my own bladder.

“I’ve been looking for someone like you,” she whispered. The crowd around us had grown silent with understanding so I heard every word she spoke as clearly as if she were in my brain. “You and I need to talk.”

Post a link to the story in the comments.

Leave a Reply

