Prompt for July 22, 2016

Complete the short story/flash fiction, that has the following opening:

“Oh, shit, I shouldn’t have come.”

“Excuse me?” said the voice next to me. I wasn’t sure if they were objecting to my choice of language or the fact that I was standing still amidst this sea of humanity. Here I was, one of the few members of the male persuasion surrounded by hundreds, no, thousands of women. The Romance Writers of America annual convention. Women, from professionals to book enthusiasts, had packed the meeting hall. I stuck out like a sore thumb.

“I’m sorry,” I said as I turned to the person next to me, “I was a little surprised by the crowd.” The woman looking at me was, for all intents and purposes, my target market: a middle-aged woman who looked like she didn’t get the excitement and love she craved from her partner so she chose to get it through my books. The look on her face, of intense expectation, almost through me for a loop. I had imagined that look before, had seen it in my mind and had written about it for a dozen books now, but I had never seen it before in person.

It was terrifying. What would happen if she didn’t meet the person she wanted to or that person disappointed her? Is she the type of person who would stalk her objective, circling in like a shark for the kill? I shook my head. My imagination sometimes gets the best of me.

“It is quite something, isn’t it?” Her voice was soft and almost lost in the noise of the crowd. I leaned in slightly to hear her better. “This is my second time here. The only reason I came this year was because I heard my favorite author is going to be unveiling themselves at their session this morning. They’ve kept themselves out of the press for the past six years. No one knows who they are or what they look like. They are a complete mystery. But in just a few hours the world is finally going to know who D.H. Rinehorn is and I just can’t wait!”

Damn, a fan. I made sure that my name tag was hidden under my coat. If this was going to be the average person in my session on “Hidden in Plain Sight” it was going to be a long day for me, D.H. Rinehorn.

Post a link to the story in the comments.

Leave a Reply

