Prompt for August 8, 2016

Complete the short story/flash fiction, that has the following opening:

“No, I’m not going to help.”

“Great, so if you can just call… wait, you’re not going to help? Seriously, man, what the fuck?”

I got up from the chair and walked to the window, the warm cup of hot chocolate in my hands. The cold winter wind outside made the windows vibrate with their cold and the hot chocolate seemed to be the only insulator I had. Granted the fury that was mounting in me from the request was keeping me toasty warm inside, but it hadn’t yet reached the point where my hands could feel the flames. They were shaking, but that was due to me desperately holding on to the fact that Perry was just the messenger and not the mastermind of this epic cluster fuck that was happening just outside my office doors.

“C’mon, Warren, you aren’t serious, are you? I mean, this is your baby too, right? You want it to succeed, don’t you?” Ah, yes, the old camaraderie ploy. Be part of the team, Warren. Suck it up for the team, Warren. Save our asses because we were too stupid and never listened to you, Warren. OK, that last tactic may have worked, if they used it, but they were too stubborn to admit they were wrong. So, I’m going to be too stubborn to save their asses.

“Yes, Perry, I am serious. Do I want the company to succeed? You bet your ass. Do I want your team to succeed?” I paused and let him stew in his own confusion and dismay. I could have stayed there a while longer but I saw Jessie approach my office through the glass and knew I needed to wrap this up quickly. “Frankly, Perry, if your team was drowning in a vat of piss I would just unzip. You’re on your own. Now if you’ll excuse me, someone that I want to talk to is about five seconds away. Don’t slam the door on your way out.”

Apparently, Perry couldn’t take a hint. He just stared at me. Like a Magikarp just flopping there on the carpet, he just opened and closed his mouth without doing much other than breathing. Jessie knocked on the door and I waved her in. I then helped Perry to his feet, pointed him in the direction of the open doorway and gave him a little push. Momentum kept him going until he crossed the threshold and looked back, just as Jessie closed the door.

Jessie turned to look at me. As VP in charge of, well, everything that mattered, she commanded a lot of respect within the organization. She was smart, brilliant even, had an innate grasp of human nature, could plan around almost contingency and cooked like a Michelin chef. And did I mention that her hazel eyes were so captivating that you got lost in them whenever you looked into her eyes? Or that she was, with her two-inch heels, the perfect height for kissing?

She tossed a folder down on my desk and stood in front of me, hands on her hips, her feet spread apart, exactly as if she were reaming me out for doing something wrong. The smile on her face and the twinkle in those hypnotic eyes were so at odds with her physical attitude that even I was momentarily confused. “So,” she said, her voice a low raspy sound that seemed to imply sex (okay, maybe that’s just me), “are you coming over tonight for dinner? My parents are dying to meet the man that tamed their daughter and since he’s not around I thought you might be a good substitute.”

I leaned against the desk, my hands clasped together and looked in her eyes – those beautiful bewitching eyes – and moaned slightly. “My god, woman, you would not believe what I would give for you to be straight. But then, what would I dream about at night? Yeah, sure, I’ll be there. Ummm,” I paused, nervous about the next question I should ask,”is your sister going to be there?”

Jessie smiled as she bent forward, her loose blouse falling away from her as she leaned in. Oh, she knew how to torture me, oh yes she did. “You mean my straight, identical twin sister?”

I nodded, my mouth dry, my self-control starting to fade. Don’t look. Don’t look. Don’t look.

Jessie smiled, stood up, straightened out her blouse and winked at me. “She’s looking forward to seeing you … again.”

Post a link to the story in the comments.

Leave a Reply

