Prompt for August 10, 2016

Complete the short story/flash fiction, that has the following opening:

I held her hand in mine, the rough calluses of my hand providing a sharp contrast to the smooth skin of hers. We were from two different worlds, two different societies, two different families. But we shared a love.

We shared a love, but was that enough? I was asking her to risk everything that she had, everyone that she had, on a chance that I was right, on the remote possibility that I knew what I was talking about. I was asking her to risk her future, the future of her sister and our future together. I was asking her to risk the love that we shared on a chance for something better.

And really, that’s all I wanted for her, something better. A time and a place where we didn’t have to both work, where we could see each other for more than just a couple of hours a day, where her sister could grow up safe with people that loved her. I wanted what I never had. I wanted to give it to her and protect her and make sure that whatever she wanted, whatever she needed, I gave her. I wanted to be her first thought in the morning and her last thought in the evening. I wanted to be her everything.

But in order to do that, I needed one thing from her, one thing that could completely make or break our relationship. I needed her to open up, see what I was offering, see what my dreams were, and just do one thing.

“Baby, do you trust me?”

Post a link to the story in the comments.

Leave a Reply

