Prompt for August 14, 2016

Complete the short story/flash fiction, that has the following opening:

My name is Travis McNulty. Everyone just calls me Nuts. I think you’ll understand why pretty soon.

The most common question I get asked is “How did it feel being the first human through a Gate that survived?”. Well, considering that the real answer is “nothing, because if I felt something I’d be dead”, I’ve learned to couch the real answer behind lies and half-truths. I talk about the enormity of the event, what it has meant for humanity and what it has meant for me.

But really? I was just lucky. Lucky that my body was reconstituted after traveling through time and space. Lucky that where I ended up was a place where I could breathe, drink and eat. Lucky that a quirk in my genetic makeup allowed my brain to continue to think after the walk through the Gate. Not everyone is so lucky.

It took more than a dozen deaths before the big shots realized that not everyone was able to move through a Gate. Indeed, less than ten percent of humanity had the same genetic defect that allowed them to travel without their brains getting fried. Was I blessed or cursed? Still not sure on the outcome to that question. Suffice to say that it has kept me employed so, I guess I should take it as a blessing.

The first trip through was pretty ordinary: a forest on a world with two suns. Just an everyday occurrence. Except for the weird double shadows and the strange colored light.

The second trip, though, that was exciting. We had just Gated back to the strange world when we had an encounter that really cemented the fact that we were in a different world with different rules. I remember dropping the backpack on the ground and making sure that everything had come through OK when I say a shadow flying by. I looked up, saw what was making the shadow and almost peed my pants.

A Dragon.

Post a link to the story in the comments.

One thought on “Prompt for August 14, 2016

Leave a Reply

