Prompt for August 16, 2016

Complete the short story/flash fiction, that has the following opening:

“Are you sure you want to go home? I mean, we’re going right by the hospital anyway, I could stop and we could see what’s happening.”

I grunted, the pain in my belly making itself felt whenever we went over a pothole, bump and crack on the road. Hell, some of the rocks felt like boulders dropped on my stomach. I hurt. Bad. And this stupid road wasn’t helping.

“Sure,” I whispered, too scared to speak up in case I screamed. Another pebble in the road and another quick turn around a corner and I felt like wanted to rip out whatever was in my stomach with a dull spoon. It couldn’t hurt any worse. I sat in the passenger seat, remembering all those breathing exercises when I was my wife’s coach during labour. What a waste of time. All they did was get me concentrating on the pain.

A bump, a smothered scream and a lurch forward as Lena stopped the car in the Emergency parking lot at the hospital. I opened the door, almost fell out before my legs got underneath me and staggered towards the Emergency entrance. My eyes were a little out of focus but I knew where I was going. Thank God there was no one in line when I entered Emergency, there was no one between me and the unsuspecting nurse on the other side of the Admitting desk.

I stumbled into the desk, causing more pain, more dark spots showing up in my vision and more swear words coming out of my mouth. The nurse turned to me, fully prepared to rip me a new one for my colourful language, when she saw the look on my face. As the colour drained from my face it also seemed to drain from hers. Good. I wasn’t in this alone.

“Please, sit down,” she said, motioning to the lone chair in from of the desk. “What seems to be the problem?”

“Pain. Gut wrenching, mind numbing, vision inducing, pain that feels just like I thought the guy from Alien would feel when that thing popped out of his stomach.” From the look on her face she didn’t watch the classics. “Stomach hurts. A lot.”

“On a scale of one to ten how bad is the pain?”

“When we started this conversation it was a seven but now it’s a ten. Oh wait.” Another spasm hit me and this time my stomach followed suit. The splash didn’t go far, just enough to get all over the nurse and her desk.

“It looks like I’m throwing up as well.”

Post a link to the story in the comments.

Leave a Reply

