Prompt for August 20, 2016

Complete the short story/flash fiction, that has the following opening:

I held the coin in my hand: rescue maiden or kill the dragon.

I know, many of you are thinking that I should rescue the maiden, but, I have to be honest here, I hate her guts. I’ve never liked Amberlee, she was always loud, obnoxious, arrogant, immature, aggressive, irresponsible, thoughtless, dishonest, stubborn, belligerent, unreliable, narcissistic, and more. Yeah, she was pretty, but that’s only skin deep, and once you got past her thin skin you see the truly revolting person that she was. Her only redeeming quality, and it wasn’t really something that she cultivated, was that she was indeed the princess of our truly magnificent king and queen. But this was about what she was, not who she was. Sure, she was their daughter, but a really bad person and I think the bandits that kidnapped her were feeling sorry for themselves right about now. If she was still alive.

The dragon, on the other hand, was hungry, had tasted human blood and was very likely going to kill more people. We didn’t have a whole lot of trouble with dragons as they tended to keep to themselves deep in the mountains, feeding only when necessary and almost always on wild game. Sure they made the occasional mistake and plucked a nice juicy cow from a herd, but it wasn’t often and the dragon almost always apologized. But this dragon, this dragon was a loner and a killer. It had killed a family of four just down the fen and had tried to kill the Mayor of Lincoln just this morning. Only quick thinking and a collapsed stone wall prevented the Mayor from being breakfast. His wife, asleep in her bed, only knew about the disturbance when the roof was ripped off their house. Yes, this dragon was a danger.

So, rescue the maiden or kill the dragon. I think you understand my quandary a little better right now. Do I let a coin decide which quest I take first or do I go with my heart? Kind-hearted people or a right royal bitch? I put the coin away as there was no need for a decision. I turned my horse and galloped towards my destiny.

Post a link to the story in the comments.

Leave a Reply

