Prompt for August 29, 2016

Complete the short story/flash fiction, that has the following opening:

“Here catch,” came the call.

I turned around to see what was going on and spied an object heading for my head. Spinning end over end it appeared to be a silvery cylinder, much like a toilet paper tube. Instinctively I reached for it to protect myself from damage if it hit me in the face. As my hand grasped it I heard a click. A very loud click.

“Awesome,” said the voice. I looked past the cylinder to see a young man, mid-twenties at the lastest, stepping away from a back pack that was by the door to the bank. Confused I just looked at him, the tube and then back to him.

“Let me explain. You are now holding the deadman switch. If you release the trigger the bomb,” he pointed to the backpack on the floor, “goes boom. If the backpack is moved it goes boom and, finally, if you get too far away, say more than ten metres, it goes boom. If you see flashing lights on the switch you have about three seconds to kiss your ass goodbye.”

He jumped up on one of the chairs nearby. “If everyone could pay attention that would be great. My partner here,” he pointed in my direction with a shit-eating grin on his face, “is holding the detonator to a bomb. If everyone listens to what I am saying nothing will happen. If not … boom”

Partner? Boom? This wasn’t even my branch, I was trying to get a roll of quarters for the damn washer and dryer in the apartment building I live in. Now I’m his partner? I looked at the deadman switch in my hand. Shit.

Post a link to the story in the comments.

Leave a Reply

