Prompt for October 11, 2016

Complete the short story/flash fiction, that has the following opening:

“I’m sorry, I just can’t do this anymore.”

The walls of the dorm were normally quite well insulated, but here in the closet-storage cupboard they forgot to put in the insulation and she could hear everything being said the in the room next to her. Normally Jessie had the door closed and the extra door, as well as her clothes hanging on the rods, muffled any sound. But right now, putting away her laundry, she could hear every word. She should back up, close the door and put on some headphones or at least turn the sound on her laptop up. But she stood there, listening. She was trying to here a response but quickly realized that Jazz was on her phone.

“I can’t do that, no, I won’t do that. I’m tired, really tired and I know it’s not your fault, but I can’t do this anymore. I’m not Rachel. I’m sorry to be blunt, but Rachel died and comparing everything that I do to Rachel isn’t helping you … or me. I need …” There was a long pause as Jazz was silent, probably listening on her phone.

“Stop it, stop it, stop it,” Jazz yelled. “You don’t know how much this hurts me. Every time we touch, every time we kiss, I’m scared that you’re thinking that it’s Rachel and not me. I can’t compete with a dead woman, it’s not fair.” Another pause and Jessie used the opportunity to grab a kleenex and go back to the closet. She knew she shouldn’t be there but she couldn’t help herself. She didn’t know Rachel well, but she knew what she was going through only too well.

“Well, then you shouldn’t have whispered her name in my ear as you were kissing me. That hurt, it tore me up inside. I understand that there is a hole in your heart, a hole that Rachel left when she died, but I’m not a Rachel-sized plug that you can use to fill it. I’m someone completely different with different ideas, different desires, different needs and different wants. If that hole in your heart ever starts to heal let me know, but I can’t be around you as you try to grab pieces of my heart and use them to stop your bleeding. I just can’t. Goodbye.”

The sound of a phone dropping onto the floor and Jazz crumpling to the ground sobbing caused Jessie’s heart to break as she left the closet and rushed next door.

Post a link to the story in the comments.

Leave a Reply

